Out of surgery. Yippeeee it’s gone :-)

 

Hello and welcome back.

Here I am looking a bit spaced out after surgery, very high on drugs, thank the universe for drugs!

11703511_10153540866366995_6664634543317241427_o

Surgery took about four and a half hours and went well and according to plan. One thing I want to mention here which I have only touched upon before, is the impact that my journey has had on my family and friends and most of all my partner Tony. Quite often, when we are on a personal mission for self improvement such as this, we forget to consider the affect it will have on the people who love us. I want to thank everyone who sent messages and called, I know you were all worried and I’m sorry to put you through it. I know you all support me 100% but I also know you were concerned too.

I am happy to report that I woke up pain free. When I woke up in the recovery room my surgeon came straight over. He did not ask me how I was feeling at first, instead he blurted out that he had broken his personal record by removing 6kg of excess skin and tissue and he was very pleased with himself. It’s not that he wasn’t interested in how I was, he was just animated about the achievement and the huge difference it was going to make to my life. I spent a little time coming round and then was moved back up to my room to a very relieved Tony.

Back on the ward the nurses actually commented that I didn’t even look like I had just had surgery at all. FOOD, I needed food, give me food! I was so hungry. I had a sandwich and a cup of tea and all was well. So, the details. The actual surgery itself was covered up with a surgical corset so I couldn’t get a look. However, what was evident was that I was missing one rather large tummy. It didn’t look like my body, it was a bit strange. I had four ordinary drains and one vacuum drain, I also had a catheter and the inflating DVT pads. I looked a right state. It was a bit shocking for Tony and also a bit frightening but I assured him that I felt fine. I couldn’t move very well, even to sit up, I felt about four hundred stone and stiff.

Here is a photo of me wrapped up, just so you can see the corset. It was taken once I was back home.

IMAG1091-1

I am sure most people know what drains are, but some may not of heard of a vacuum drain. I shall explain. Due to the extent of my surgery and the trauma due to the huge wounds, the surgeon thought I would produce significant amount of fluid. He decided that it was best to leave the area where the two incisions met open for a few days to allow for the fluid to be collected. The vacuum drain does exactly what it sounds like; it sucks the fluid out and stores it in a container. It’s pretty weird knowing you have an open wound, but it was only for a few days.

The first night I didn’t get much sleep. I had to have regular obs taken and drugs and antibiotics administered through my I.V. I wasn’t in any real pain though which was good. Because I had a catheter I didn’t have to move from my bed, I had initially been a bit reluctant to have one, but I was very thankful I had it as the thought of trying to get up was a little terrifying. I thought I might fall apart which I know sounds a little extreme but that is how it felt.  I had prepared myself as much as someone possibly can for the recovery period but nothing really ever prepares you and the next few days would be a real challenge.

Thank you for reading my blog, see you next time.

Claire x

2 thoughts on “Out of surgery. Yippeeee it’s gone :-)

  1. I’m so very glad all went well. I wish you the speediest of recoveries and I really do hope you can enjoy your new tummy and maybe the added body confidence xx

Leave a comment